

UNIVERSITY OF SYDNEY UNION

University of Sydney Union

The University of Sydney NSW 2006

T 1800 013 201 (02) 9563 6000

(02) 9563 6216

info@usu.usyd.edu.au

www.usydunion.com

# UNIVERSITY OF SYDNEY UNION SECRETARIAT

The attached minutes have been accepted by the Debates Committee by resolution as a true and accurate record of the events of the meeting held on the 22 May 2008.

Chair - Alice Dixon

5.6.08

Date



# MINUTES OF A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE DEBATES COMMITTEE HELD AT 5:00 P.M. ON THURSDAY 22 MAY 2008 IN THE COMMON ROOM, HOLME BUILDING

#### **PRESENT**

**MEMBERS:** Rose Khalilizadeh, President (*ex officio*)

Alice Dixon, Chair

Vyvyan Nickels, Deputy Chair Daniel Wodak, Director of Debates

Ellen Ferrington Michaelis

Andrew Garrett Kishan Jasani Giselle Kenny Tim Mooney Stephanie Paton

**VISITORS:** Patrick Bateman

Sam Greenland

Ruchir Punjabi, Director

**UNION STAFF:** Alistair Cowie, Director Student Programmes

Khym Scott, Committee Secretary

The Chair declared the meeting open at 5:14pm.

### 1. APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Apologies were received from Ms. Roslyn Stein, Ms. Naomi Hart, Ms. Melissa Brooks, Ms. Katherine Connolly, Ms. Misa Han, Mr. James Johnston, Mr. Patrick Wall, requests for early departure were received from Ms. Rose Khalilizadeh, Ms. Vyvyan Nickels, Mr. Kishan Jasani, Ms. Giselle Kenny, Mr. Sam Greenland and Mr. Alistair Cowie and a request for late arrival was received from Ms. Sophie Stone.

DC 083/08 RESOLVED to accept apologies from Ms. Roslyn Stein, Ms. Naomi

Hart, Ms. Melissa Brooks, Ms. Katherine Connolly, Ms. Misa Han, Mr. James Johnston, Mr. Patrick Wall, to grant early departure to Ms. Rose Khalilizadeh, Ms. Vyvyan Nickels, Mr. Kishan Jasani, Ms. Giselle

Kenny, Mr. Sam Greenland and Mr. Alistair Cowie, and to grant late arrival to Ms. Sophie Stone.

Daniel Wodak / Stephanie Paton

## 2. <u>GENERAL BUSINESS</u>

2.1 Australs Selectors

**DC 084/08 RESOLVED** to move the discussion *in camera*.

Ellen Ferrington Michaelis / Kishan Jasani

**DC 085/08 RESOLVED** to invite visitors to remain.

Ellen Ferrington Michaelis / Kishan Jasani

**DC 086/08 RESOLVED** to accept the list of selectors.

Tim Mooney / Andrew Garrett

**DC 087/08 RESOLVED** to accept the list of adjudicators.

Tim Mooney / Ellen Ferrington Michaelis