

University of Sydney Union

The University of Sydney NSW 2006

1800 013 201 (02) 9563 6000

(02) 9563 6216

info@usu.usyd.edu.au E www.usydunion.com

UNIVERSITY OF SYDNEY UNION **SECRETARIAT**

The attached minutes have been accepted by The Debates Committee by resolution as a true and accurate record of the events of the meeting held on 6 November 2008.

Chair – Patrick Bateman



MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE DEBATES COMMITTEE HELD AT 5:00 P.M. ON THURSDAY 6 NOVEMBER 2008 IN THE READING ROOM, HOLME BUILDING

PRESENT

MEMBERS: Douglas Thompson, Deputy Chair

Daniel Wodak, Director of Debates

Ellen Ferrington Michaelis

Stephanie Paton Patrick Wall

VISITORS: Courtney Tight, Director

UNION STAFF: Alistair Cowie, Director Student Programmes

Khym Scott, Committee Secretary

The Deputy Chair declared the meeting open at 5:12pm.

1. <u>APOLOGIES AND LEAVES OF ABSENCE</u>

DC 196/08 RESOLVED that apologies be accepted from Mr. Ruchir Punjabi, Ms. Alice

Dixon, Ms. Naomi Hart, Mr. James Johnston, Mr. Tim Mooney and Ms.

Sophie Stone.

Ellen Ferrington Michaelis / Patrick Wall

2. <u>MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETINGS</u>

DC 197/08 RESOLVED that the minutes of the previous meeting held 16 October 2008

be accepted as a true and accurate record of proceedings.

Stephanie Paton / Patrick Wall

3. <u>BUSINESS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES</u>

Mr. Patrick Wall advised the Committee that in continuation of previous discussion the Honorary Treasurer for Debates had done nothing despite promises made.

4. <u>MOTIONS ON NOTICE</u>

There were no motions on notice.

5. <u>GENERAL BUSINESS</u>

5.1 Reports

5.1.1 Director of Debates

The Director of Debates thanked Mr. Sam Greenland and all Committee Members, and particularly congratulated Mr. Wall and Ms. Giselle Kenny for the biggest contingent at all tournaments attended; Ms. Naomi Hart and Ms. Katherine Connolly for running more competitions than in pervious years; Mr. Tim Mooney for his social events; Ms. Stephanie Paton for her knowledge and Ms. Ellen Ferrington Michaelis for running a Schools' Programme with the biggest and most profitable Schools' Day.

[Mr. Alistair Cowie arrived at the meeting at 5:15pm.]

PARTICLE 198/08RESOLVED that the 2008 Committee Members be thanked, in particular Mr. Patrick Wall and Ms. Giselle Kenny, Ms. Naomi Hart and Ms. Katherine Connolly, Mr. Tim Mooney, Ms. Stephanie Paton, and Ms. Ellen Ferrington Michaelis.

Acclamation

DC 199/08 RESOLVED that the Report of the Director of Debates be accepted.

Acclamation

5.1.2 Honorary Treasurer for Debates

In the absence of the Honorary Treasurer for Debates there was nothing to report.

5.1.3 Intervarsity Directors

Mr. Wall reported that there was little more to add to a report on Worlds, advising that they were sending a contingent of twenty nine people. He advised that he estimated thirty teams in attendance at the Sydney Mini tournament.

DC 200/08 RESOLVED that Mr. Daniel Wodak be thanked for his excellent work as Director of Debates.

Acclamation

DC 201/08 RESOLVED that the Report of the Intervarsity Director be accepted.

Acclamation

5.1.4 Women's Directors

Ms. Paton reported that the Sexual Discrimination Officers for Worlds had been appointed, being Mr. Chris Croke, Mr. Tim Mooney, Ms. Giselle Kenny and Ms. Alice Dixon.

DC 202/08 RESOLVED that the Report of the Women's Director be accepted.

Patrick Wall / Daniel Wodak

5.1.5 Communications Director

In the absence of the Communications Director there was nothing to report.

5.1.6 Union Competitions Directors

In the absence of the Union Competitions Directors there was nothing to report.

5.1.7 Schools' Programmes Directors

Ms. Ferrington Michaelis advised that she was looking forward to working with the incoming Schools' Programmes Directors, and thanked the Director of Debates for his support.

DC 203/08 RESOLVED that the Report of the Schools' Programmes Director be accepted.

Patrick Wall / Daniel Wodak

5.1.8 Social Directors

In the absence of the Social Directors there was nothing to report.

5.1.9 Development Officer

In the absence of the Development Officer there was nothing to report.

6. OTHER BUSINESS

DC 204/08 RESOLVED that the 2009 Committee Members and Mr. Steven Hind be wished good luck for the next year.

Acclamation

The Director of Debates advertised the debate on the weekend with Mr. Adam Spencer, Ms. Julia Bowes and Mr. Patrick Bateman.

7. <u>NEXT MEETING</u>

This is the final meeting of the Committee in 2008.

8. <u>CLOSE OF MEETING</u>

With no other business to be attended to the Deputy Chair declared the meeting closed at 5:21pm.