# Meeting of the Debates Committee 6.50pm, Thursday 22<sup>nd</sup> November 2012, Reading Room Holme Building, Science Road, University of Sydney. Draft Minutes

3	UNIVERSITY OF SYDNEY UNION

Committee
Members

Rhys Pogonoski (Chair)

Solange Handley (Director of Debates), Abigail McCarthy, Boston Zhang, Sam Molloy, Camille Crowther, Nicholas Collins-Craft, Nicholas Chung, Andrew Bell, Jack Luxford and Daniel Farinha.

**USU Staff** 

Louise Anthony (Programmes Manager) Margaret Hinder (Committee Secretary)

Number	Details
DC 148/12	Resolved to accept apologies from Emma Johnstone and Olivia Ronan .
	Sam Molloy / Abigail McCarthy

#### DC 149/12

Mr Pogonoski spoke briefly, emphasising to the incoming Committee that reports should be sent to the Committee Secretary well before the meeting so that they could be circulated and read by the Committee members prior to the meeting.

He also added that they should make recommendations in their reports, so that they could be considered, and then make resolutions and decisions, which can be assessed at subsequent meetings.

He also added that they were all expected to attend the meetings, particularly given that the dates were provided well in advance.

Ms Handley then spoke to the Committee, congratulating them on their achievements. She expressed her excitement for the coming year; she noted that it was a young Committee, with fewer people with the result of some double portfolios. She noted that there was lots of help available from others, and that the most important thing was to ask when help was needed so that it could be given in a timely manner.

She explained that there were going to be many marketing changes, with a new logo, Facebook page, a new debaterbase and assistance with the pamphlet. She asked that any suggestions be directed to herself or Nicholas Collins-Craft. She encouraged the new Committee to talk to others and get their feedback, and use their own experiences in their portfolios. She also expressed her appreciation for the offers of assistance made by Ms Jones and senior members of the Society for any previous materials, and Mr Swain for his suggestions regarding the development program.

## Meeting of the Debates Committee 6.50pm, Thursday 22<sup>nd</sup> November 2012, Reading Room Holme Building, Science Road, University of Sydney. Draft Minutes

### UNIVERSITY OF SYDNEY UNION

#### Resolved en bloc that:

Camille Crowther and Olivia Ronan be appointed as Schools Officers for the Debates Committee in 2013.

Nicholas Collins Craft be appointed the Honorary Treasurer and Communications Director for the Debates Committee in 2013.

Abigail McCarthy and Nicholas Chung be appointed Intervarsity Directors for the Debates Committee in 2013.

Abigail McCarthy and Olivia Ronan be appointed Women's Officers for the Debates Committee in 2013.

Daniel Farinha and Emma Johnstone be appointed Competitions Directors for the Debates Committee in 2013.

Sam Molloy and Andrew Bell be appointed as Development Officers for the Debates Committee in 2013.

Jack Luxford be appointed as the Socials Officer for the Debates Committee in 2013.

Solange Handley / Andrew Bell

The Meeting was closed at 7:05pm.